Sign In Forgot Password

Leadership

 
Rabbi Kim Blumenthal
Contact information: Rabbiblumenthal@gmail.com or 917-742-4214
 
Rabbi Faith Cantor, Educational Director of Bet Chaverim Religious School
Contact information:
 

 

Brief Bios

Rabbi Kim Blumenthal is the new spiritual leader of BetChaverim. With a dynamic, decade-long record of innovation, community outreach and leadership, Rabbi Blumenthal joined Bet Chaverim in 2018 from Beth Israel Congregation in Ann Arbor, MI where she had served as Rabbi since 2008.  Earlier she served at Congregation Beth Israel in Vernon, CT and prior to ordination, she worked with congregations in New York City, NY; Scranton, PA; and Ventnor, NJ.

 

“I am excited about joining Bet Chaverim and sharing the joys of Jewish practice, prayer, and tradition with my new community,” said Rabbi Blumenthal.  “As a rabbi, I am committed to nurturing individuals, couples, and families through supportive pastoral care.  I look forward to working with Bet Chaverim members to create meaningful programs, engage with the larger community, inspire social action, and provide new opportunities for sharing Jewish growth and experience.”

 

Rabbi Blumenthal was recently featured in a lovely article in the Jewish Times: http://jewishtimes.com/84257/ellicott-citys-bet-chaverim-welcomes-rabbi-kim-blumenthal/news/.  Additionally, Rabbi Blumenthal was asked to write a "Spiritual Matters" column for the October issue of Jmore Magazine.  She chose the subject of "Identifying and Cherishing The Sacred," and reminds us that the month of Cheshvan, notable for its lack of major festivals, "...allows us space for reflection. The work of the High Holiday season does not end with the long blast of the shofar at the end of Yom Kippur. It is meant to stay with us throughout the year." Click here to read the Rabbi's timely essay: https://images.shulcloud.com/583/uploads/Rabbi-Blumenthal-Jmore-Oct2018.pdf

 

https://images.shulcloud.com/583/uploads/Rabbi-Cantor-1.jpgRabbi Faith Cantor as the New Educational Director. See the recent article in the Jewish Times: https://images.shulcloud.com/583/uploads/Bet-Chaverim-Welcomes-New-Education-Director.html

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Officers
 
Vice President - Phil Rogofsky progofsky@yahoo.com or 410-627-1074
 
 
Secretary - Alethea Schmall   alethea@schmallhome.com or 410-336-9837
 
Board of Trustees
(Trustees serve for 2-year terms;
those marked with * are completing their 2nd year) 
 

Jamie Biegeleisen  jscoop5@yahoo.com or 410-480-1639

Steve Bloom  sdbloom@comcast.net or 443-520-8489

Laurie Diener  eventions48@verizon.net or 410-591-2603

Robert Jacobs*  betchaverim.business@gmail.com or 443-535-0325

Jeff Kinstler  kinstlaw@verizon.net or 410-480-5432

Ivy Konel  ivykonel@msn.com or 410-740-4927

Jarrett Reid*  jarrett@reidhome.com or 410-336-9718

 

Committee Chairs
 
Chesed - Karyn Gross krglcg@gmail.com or 301-233-4371
 
Communications/Marketing - Ben Zingman  bzcom@aol.com or 410-531-3458        
 
Education & Youth/Religious School - Jarrett Reid  jarrett@reidhome.com or 410-336-9718
 
Finance/Budget - Stuart Goldman  sgoldman302@verizon.net or 410-730-1930     
 
Long-Range Planning - Larry Cohen l.h.cohen@mac.com or 410-992-5876       
 

Membership - Heather Zimmerman heather_zimmerman@verizon.net or 420-480-8361 

                      - Elan Abutboul elan828@yahoo.com or 732-233-6416

Programming - Debbie Rubin deb@debrubincoaching.com or 443-386-8204

                             - Ivy Konel  ivykonel@msn.com or 410-740-4927

Religious - David Cohen cohen.david09@gmail.com or 410-905-8340

Social Action/Green - David Marker  dmmarker@comcast.net or 301-854-2531
 
 
 
 
Sun, June 16 2019 13 Sivan 5779